Anne Phillips - Singer, Composer and Producer

From the Cosmos to the Soul: A Celebration of Women’s Music

I am thrilled to have been chosen as one of the five New York Women Composers members to be part of this concert. “An Alaskan Trilogy,” which is second on the program, is my setting of three poems by Phoebe Newman, whom I met while doing my annual vocal workshop in Ketchikan, AK. I hope you can see it. Anne

May 19, 2021 – 2:30 PM EDT, 7:30 PM BST

Illuminate Women’s Music Presents:

From the Cosmos to the Soul: A Celebration of Women’s Music
Rose Hegele, soprano; Julia Scott Carey, pianist

Soprano and curator Rose Hegele and pianist Julia Scott Carey present From the Cosmos to the Soul: A Celebration of Women’s Music on May 19, 2021 at Illuminate Women’s Music’s digital livestream series.

The program journeys from the outer world to the inner world, starting with pieces that celebrate the creation of the universe and the natural world, moving inward to embrace the human voice and examine how we connect to others, and ending with self-reflection.

This concert is supported through a seed grant from New York Women Composers, Inc. (NYWC), and features compositions by five NYWC members: Sabrina Peña Young, Anne Phillips, Svjetlana Bukvich, Niloufar Nourbakhsh, and Beata Moon. Other works are by Kamala Sankaram, Margaret Bonds, and Mason Bynes. There will be two world premieres by Mari Kotskyy and Sungji Hong.

Admission is Free.
Facebook Event:

Illuminate Women’s Music YouTube

Illuminate Women’s Music


Light by Sabrina Peña Young from Creation Oratorio

An Alaskan Trilogy by Anne Phillips, text by Phoebe Newman

I. Why Faith Abides

II. Romancing Ketchikan

III. An Enduring Imbalance

Winter Song by Mari Kotskyy * (for solo piano) Ololyga (2017) by Kamala Sankaram

Tattoo by Svjetlana Bukvich – from Interior Designs (2013) originally commissioned by Carolyn Dorfman Dance

Six Songs on Poems by Edna St. Vincent Millay by Margaret Bonds

I. Women Have Loved Before As I Love Now

II. Feast

III. What Lips My Lips Have Kissed

Bell Song (2021) * by Sungji Hong (for solo piano)

The Window (2020) by Niloufar Nourbakhsh

The House (2019) by Mason Bynes

Time to Reflect (2015) by Beata Moon

* World Premiere